Thomas Carey

Thomas Carey ben called, he wants his original idea back

Ronan M Higginson

Ronan M Higginson Having given this a rethink, I think it's only fair to keep this to Best of 3 all the way.

Ronan M Higginson

Ronan M Higginson And to prevent this to look similar to any other tourneys as well, this will be turned into a Goatdown tourney. More info to follow

Oliver Garner

Oliver Garner Back in the day Andrew Feist ran a multi division winter tournament, where players were split into divisions of about 15 based on rating. In these groups, you were then split into subgroups of about 5 and would play a round robin best of 3. The winners of the subgroups would then play a best of 3 round robin to decide who wins the division. Just a thought for an alternative format

Show all comments
Ronan M Higginson

Ronan M Higginson Nice idea Oliver, will give it a think.

Also, less than a week to go. The more the merrier.

Eoin Jackson

Eoin Jackson Is 'Ben' the person who first invented tournament play in general? Intrigued to hear the rest of this history lesson about originality.

Cheers for organising, Ronan. Best of luck with running it.


Ronan M Higginson

Ronan M Higginson A couple of hours left to sign up if anyone would like to. Will hopefully be doing the draw in Aptochat either today or tomorrow!

Oliver Garner

Oliver Garner Can you confirm the format please Ronan?

Ronan M Higginson

Ronan M Higginson Goat Standard.

Tourney round: Apterous Winter Tournament 2020: Sign Ups and Entries

Notes from the organizer: Hello and welcome To The Apterous Winter Tournament.

This will be a tournament that is hopefully likely to run into 2021 (depending on sign ups) and you will start of with a best of 3 15 Rounder (this will become best of 5, 7 and so on, the further you go in the tournament).

Anyone can play, all abilities are welcome. I'll leave sign ups open until the end of the month. All questions are welcome in the comment section, you'll have 3 weeks to complete your games.

Hope to see as many as possible playing,
Good luck.

Ran from: 1 – 30 November 2020. Format: 15 Rounder. Matches: Best-of-3. Approved.

Organizers: Ronan M Higginson.

Signed up: Ian Volante, Alex H, Adam Dexter, Matthew Tassier, Jason Turner, Johnny Canuck, Rhys Benjamin, Robin M, Eoin Jackson, Tracey Mills, Thomas Carey, Neil Collins, Tricia Lockhart, Anthony Endsor, Matty Artell, Andy SC, Hazel Drury, Bradley Horrocks, Dan Byrom, Elliott Mellor, Eeshan Malhotra, Stephen Holford, Edward Ashcroft, Cammy L, Fiona T, Jonathan Dyke, Ronan M Higginson, Dave Robjohns, Jake Gander, Matthew S Rutherford, Richard Huang, Oliver Solamath, William R Draper, Dave Kempshall, Oliver Walker, Darren Godfrey, Damian McEvoy, Dave O'Donnell, Alan O'Sullivan, Wesley Barton.

Fixtures: 0. Completed: 0.

This website is not endorsed by or affiliated with Channel 4, the makers of Countdown, or any person associated with the aforementioned in any way whatsoever at all, never has been, never will be, and moreover is proud not to be. Yep.

Page generated in 0.0145 seconds. It's 22:32:16 on Sunday 17 January 2021 here at Apterous Towers. Design and all good stuff copyright © Charles Reams 2008–2021. In memory of Phillip Harcort Collinge, never forgotten. Some graphical and aesthetic elements by Matt Morrison and Jon O'Neill.